top of page

The 5 best vegan and dairy free cheeses

Just because you're allergic or intolerant to milk, or choosing to follow a vegan diet, doesn't mean you should have to give up the beautiful creation of cheese. There's plenty of tasty alternatives to the usual animal's milk cheese however, there's plenty of alternatives that taste awful or feel like you're eating rubber. We're here to help you find the good cheese, cheese that tastes nice but won't upset your stomach or your ethics.

5. Tesco’s chilli and jalapeño cheddar

I make a lot of bean chilli and nachos at home so this cheese is great for me. Obviously if you’re not a fan of spice then maybe steer clear, although it’s not too spicy. Like most dairy free cheeses it’s not the best at melting but when I put it on my nachos in the oven or in a burrito it melts well enough.

4. Violife Cream cheese

Violife is available in most big supermarkets. The cheese slices and blocks are more than a tad rubbery and aren’t the best. However, the cream cheese isn't half bad although it is very mild. I use this when I want a treat and slather it on toast or a bagel. When I’m trying to be healthy I might have it on a cracker with some sliced tomatoes and black pepper. You can also use it on pizza rather than trying to use a rubbery cheese that wont melt.

3. Tesco’s wensleydale

I bought this at Christmas and it went down a treat on crackers paired with a nice chutney. It also went down well at 2 in the morning when I was stood in the kitchen nibbling on it. Being allergic to milk when I was little meant that this sort of thing just wasn’t really available so the fact I can actually have cheese and crackers now is really exciting for me.

2. Tesco’s goat’s cheese

I was so excited when I saw this on a supermarket shelf. I love goats cheese and this one is creamy and easy to spread on toast. I’m not going to lie it’s a small packet and it only lasted me 48 hours but it was worth it!

1. Greek style cheese

This is currently my favourite because it actually tastes like feta cheese. It’s super yummy in pastas and salads and if you feed your cow’s milk loving friends with it, I’m sure they won’t know the difference. You can find it in most big Sainsburys.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page